Sam Adams Chocolate Bock Beer Cupcakes with Tangelo Buttercream Frosting

Maybe it was the news about a cupcake ATM, maybe it was my craving for chocolate, but last Thursday night I found myself in the kitchen whipping up a batch of cupcakes. And what better way to make cupcakes then with alcohol, more specifically Sam Addams Chocolate Bock beer 😉 Alcohol and chocolate make everything taste better! I didn’t follow a specific recipe for these, but you can check We Are Not Martha for a variety of alcoholic cupcakes. The first batch I baked, while super moist and tasty, sunk a little bit upon cooling. I fixed this by adding half a cup of flour to the remaining batter.

Ingredients (makes 18):

  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chunks
  • 1 cup beer (I used Sam Adams Chocolate Bock)
  • 1 stick butter
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 + cup  flour
  • salt
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • zest of a lemon

For the frosting:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 Tb tangelo juice
  • 1-2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • tangelo zest

Preheat oven to 375F. Line muffin pan with cupcake wrappers.

In a bowl place the cocoa and chocolate chunks. Warm up 1/2 cup of beer until simmering, pour over the chocolate and stir until melted. In a separate bowl beat the butter with the sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Beat in the chocolate-cocoa mix. Add the remaining 1/2 cup of beer. Beat in the dry ingredients, lemon zest and juice. 

 

Fill the cupcake wrappers with the batter until 3/4 full. Bake for ~15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. And here is the first batch:

Did I mention I love my Anthropologie muffin pan? 🙂 For the second batch I stirred in 1/2 cup more flour:

These ones kept their shape! Let the cupcakes cool.

Make icing by beating together all the ingredients. I ran of lemon zest and the only other citrus I had was a tangelo, but you can use anything you like. I just felt that the beer was a bit sweet and needed a little citrus kick 😉 Top the cupcakes with the frosting, decorate with a bit more tangelo zest. Enjoy! 

 

While I joined the cupcake craze a bit late, I’ve come to like them a lot. Whenever I bake a big cake for someone’s birthday, I wonder if it taste right since most of the time I cannot taste it, but with the cupcakes you can always taste one…or more, and no one will notice 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sam Adams Chocolate Bock Beer Cupcakes with Tangelo Buttercream Frosting

  1. Dumi says:

    I confirm: it’s hard to stop eating them 🙂

    The muffin pan is owesome 🙂

  2. That is the cutest muffin pan ever! and the cakes look good too

  3. Thank you! I am planning on making some muffins soon, just so I can use the pan again 🙂

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

