Eggless Waffles

After I bought my flaxseed meal, I looked on the bag to figure out how to mix it with other flours, but instead I found info on how to use it as an egg substitute! So today, I found myself without eggs in the fridge and decided to give it a try. It worked great!

Ingredients (makes 3 waffles):

  • 1 Tb flax seed meal + 3 Tb water
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 Tb vegetable oil

Start by mixing the flax seed meal with the water and let it stand for 2 minutes. Meanwhile, whisk the other ingredients. Whisk in the “egg”. Cook according to your waffle maker directions. Serve warm with maple syrup!

These turn out crispier than usual, but they were so good!!! I think I ate them in record time and didn’t even notice the lack of egg. You can make this vegan by using almond milk (or any other dairy-free milk, but almond is my favorite ;-)). I used whole milk this time because I had to finish a bottle that expires soon. Trying to keep my resolution of wasting less food 😉

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

