Julia Child’s Mousseline au Chocolat (Chocolate Mousse)

I am not sure what is about French names, but food definitely sounds better in French. Mousseline au chocolat sounds smooth, indulgent and comforting, exactly how this dessert is. I made this dessert to go with the steak from Julia Child’s cookbook and I picked it mostly because it could be made in advance, and also because I was in the mood for chocolate. Honestly, I think I am always in the mood for chocolate πŸ™‚

Ingredients (serves 8):

  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 3/4 cups + 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 cup Grand Marnier
  • 6 oz dark chocolate
  • 4 Tb coffee
  • lots of butter!!! (~1 1/2 sticks)
  • salt

Bring a big pot of water to simmer. Whisk the egg yolks with the sugar in a heat conductive pot until the mixture lightens up and it forms ribbons. Whisk in the Grand Marnier (or other liquor really). Place the pot on top of the simmering water and whisk until the mixture foams and “is too hot for your finger” (~5 minutes). Move the pot over a bowl of cold water and beat for a few more minutes or until the mixture cools down (it will thicken). The alcohol will start evaporating from the mixture so make sure you don’t inhale too many vapors πŸ™‚Β My goal was to whisk this, but I got too tired and switched to using an electric mixer. It’s been awhile since I used to cook only with the whisk, so I guess I am a bit out of shape 😦

Melt chocolate and coffee over the simmering water. Remove and beat in the butter gradually. Beat in the egg yolk mixture.Β 

By now you should have nice delicious creamy mixture. The egg whites will be used to lighten the mix. Beat the egg whites with a bit of salt until soft peaks are formed, then add the tablespoon of sugar and beat until stiff. Fold gently into the chocolate mixture.Β 

Spoon into bowls and refrigerate for a few hours or overnight. Bon Appetit πŸ™‚

While very light and airy, this mousse was very very filling! I initially thought it will make four servings, but in truth it is more like eight servings, unless you want to die from chocolate and butter πŸ˜‰ I felt it turned out a bit sweet, so next time I will to buy a darker chocolate and maybe use less sugar/butter. I used the 1lb Dark Chocolate block from Trader Joe’s, which is about 64% cocoa, but you can definitely use darker chocolate. This was my first time making chocolate mousse, but I think I will make it a lot more often since you can stick it in the fridge and forget about it, while taking care of other dishes. I do need to find a way of using fewer pots though in order to reduce the amount of post-cleaning…oh, Julia πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Julia Child’s Mousseline au Chocolat (Chocolate Mousse)

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Julia Child! | the windy kitchen

  2. Looks awesome just made the same recipe! I agree about the french name sounding better

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

