Pita Pockets with Baked Sweet Potato Falafel and Tahini Sauce

Since the Great Orthodox Easter Fast has officially began this Monday, I decided to make a vegan lunch. The Orthodox fast is very strict and I always thought it requires you to be vegan, but upon reading a variety of websites, I learned two new rules: olive oil should not be used except for specific days (mostly weekends) and you can eat shellfish (fish without a backbone)! I assume I didn’t know these things as olive oil and shellfish are not used as often in the Romanian diet.

While I don’t usually fast, I like to take this time to be grateful for what I have and for the people in my life, while trying to not get frustrated by the little annoyances of every day life. So for the next few weeks, I promise not to complain about slow subways, illogical train connection schedule, or lack of schedule, loud irritating fellow commuters, etc. I also give myself until Easter to forgive all the wrongdoings  (if any) of people in my life.

For the falafel, I used this recipe, but since my sweet potatoes were on the smaller side I only used 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of coriander. Also, I skipped the olive oil and just baked my falafels on wax paper. 

 

Tahini Sauce Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup tahini paste
  • 1 Tbsp oil
  • 2 Tbsps lemon juice
  • 1/4 + cup water
  • salt to taste

Mix the tahini paste with the oil and lemon juice. The mixture will get thick and the oil will separate. Add water 1 Tbsp at a time until the mixture becomes homogenous and has the desired consistency. Season with salt. 

 

I chose to serve my falafel in pita pockets with the tahini sauce, chopped tomatoes and butter lettuce leaves. This is a tasty flavor filled lunch that is both vegan and gluten free! What are your go to foods during Easter fast?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

