Sourdough Toasts with Chanterelles and Oysters

Oh, how I had great plans for my blog this week, but work got in the way 😦 I finally have some free time to use my laptop for something else besides staring at shapes in Adobe Illustrator.

This summer we took a trip to Scandinavia to attend a wedding in Stockholm and we spent a few days in Copenhagen. I did sign up for the Noma waiting list, but of course, I didn’t get an email back. I am sure the waiting lists are enormous! I have been read a few articles/posts about Noma, and it seems the best strategy is to first get the reservation and then plan the trip 🙂

Since we couldn’t go to Noma, I decided to make the next best thing: a recipe by Rene Redzepi. In case you missed it, Bon Appetit had an article about a meal he prepared together with pictures and the recipes.

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 3 Tbsps unsalted butter
  • 4 slices of sourdough bread
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 100 g chanterelle mushrooms
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 3 Tbsps heavy cream
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp cilantro, chopped
  • 4 oysters, shucked and chopped.

Melt 2 Tbsps of butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Toast the bread on one side until brown. Add 1 more tablespoon of butter, flip the bread and toast the second side for a few minutes. Let bread slices cool.

Clean and slice the mushrooms into halves. Chop the shallot and cilantro. 

Shuck the oysters. I have never cooked with oysters before and I have to say they were a bit intimidating. After reading online, my boyfriend and I decided to cheat and just open them up using the microwave. It worked perfectly!

Heat up oil and cook mushrooms for a few minutes. Remove some of the mushrooms (~1/3) and add the remaining butter and cream to the rest of the mushrooms. 

 

Simmer until the sauce thickens. Add the oysters, shallots and cilantro, and mix. Now you are ready to assemble the toasts! Divide the mushroom mixture over the toasts. Top with the saved mushrooms and serve!

I served these as an appetizer and for the entree I made the mussels dish. I was very excited to use the dry lovage I brought all the way from Romania, but I am sure the dish will taste even better with fresh lovage. I will be on the look out this summer at the farmers’ market! 😉

While it took a bit of effort to get the chanterelles and the oysters, I highly recommend them. You can of course use other mushrooms, especially if planning to make this in a big batch as chanterelles can be a bit pricy. I greatly enjoyed the flavors from both dishes. Here’s hoping to make it to Noma one day 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sourdough Toasts with Chanterelles and Oysters

  1. Дмитрий says:

    cool!

  2. yes, very tasty. I highly recommend the recipe 😉

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

