Pesto Quinoa Salad

Are there any foods you could eat again and again? I think I could eat feta, tomatoes and olives for every meal, every day…well, at least for a while πŸ™‚ Ironically, I didn’t even used to eat olives when I was little. One of my uncles kept trying to get me to eat them (and swallow the pit!!!), but he wasn’t very successful. I don’t remember exactly when, but I eventually gave olives a second chance and ended up loving them. Now, I couldn’t live without olives πŸ™‚ The key to liking olives, I think, is to start with good olives! Some people prefer the big fat green ones, some prefer the black oil cured ones, some just like kalamata, etc. I believe that there is an olive type for everyone and that anyone could learn to love olives, just like I did πŸ™‚

I still had some pesto and olives left from the pizza I made last week and I decided to use them in a quinoa salad. For those of you new to quinoa, it is a seed high in protein and can be used as a grain in most recipes. It’s similar to bulgur and rice, but with a more toasty, nutty flavor. Also, it is gluten free! I was skeptical about it, but the first time I tried it I fell in love with it! So if you haven’t tried it yet, give it a chance and you won’t regret it πŸ˜‰

Ingredients (serves ~2):

  • 1/2 cup quinoa (makes 2 cups)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta
  • 10 olives, pitted, sliced
  • 3-4 cauliflower florets
  • 2 Tbsps pesto
  • 1/2 small cucumber

Start by cooking the quinoa. Mix 1/2 cup quinoa with 1 cup of water.Β Heat up until it starts to boil, then reduce the heat to a simmer and cook for 15 min longer. Look how cute it looks πŸ™‚

While the quinoa is cooking, chop the veggies.

 

Add the cauliflower and feta cheese.Β 

Mix the quinoa with the pesto, then mix it in with the veggies and cheese.Β 

I love quinoa and this was a very tasty easy to make salad. Also, very healthy πŸ˜‰Β Great to pack for lunch!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pesto Quinoa Salad

  1. Simona Nedelcu says:

    I hate olives!!

  2. does Daniel like them? you should watch the How I Met Your Mother episode about the olive theory πŸ˜‰

  3. Simona Nedelcu says:

    which episode is that? I am a fan of the show, but don’t remember this episode!

  4. it’s in Season 1, episode 1 (Pilot). I obviously haven’t watched too many episodes πŸ™‚ here is a link about the olive theory http://how-i-met-your-mother.wikia.com/wiki/Olive_Theory

  5. ChicFitChef says:

    LOVE THIS!! πŸ™‚

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

