Trader Joe’s Crispy Rice Treats with Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chips

I know I am weird, but I do not usually eat cereal. I do go through periods when I’ll buy a big tub of yogurt and some nutty/fruity cereal blends and have that for breakfast, but it only happens on rare occasions 🙂 I am very picky about the cereal I eat, when I do eat it, so you can imagine that the crispy rice box I purchased to make this cake was left untouched. Since one of my new year resolutions is to try to waste less food, I decided to give it another chance at being eaten by making it into rice treats.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup agave maple syrup
  • 1/4 peanut butter
  • 2 cups rice cereal
  • 2-3 Tbsps mini chocolate chips

Combine sugar and syrup in a pan. Warm up on medium heat until almost boiling and stir until all the sugar dissolves. 

Remove from heat and stir in the peanut butter! 

Add the rice cereal and chocolate chips and mix. 

Press down the mixture in a pan. I used a pie dish for this. 

Let harden in the fridge for several hours. I left mine in overnight and enjoyed it the next morning for breakfast 😉

This turned out pretty enjoyable. I knew peanut butter and chocolate will make me eat rice cereal 😉 They did turn out a bit crumply so I think I will use some marshmallows next time as well. I still have a lot of cereal left so I’ll probably have to make a lot more rice treats!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

