Healthier Pancakes with Oats, Raspberries and Maple Syrup

I have finally remembered to purchase rolled oats at the grocery store and I decided to use them in a simple pancake recipe this weekend. The oats will eventually make it into a cookie recipe, but strangely enough I just didn’t feel like eating cookies this weekend. While not as fluffy and buttery as other pancakes, these ones have a nice consistency and are so tasty that I didn’t even miss the extra sugar and/or butter. Not an oatmeal fan? Don’t worry, you won’t even notice it 🙂 My boyfriend cringes whenever I mention oatmeal for breakfast, but he ate these pancakes in a heart beat. While he did notice the different consistency, he didn’t figure out that they contained oats until I told him. I guess it’s hard to taste oatmeal when you refuse to eat it, and therefore are not familiar with the taste 🙂 A few more recipes like this one, and maybe I’ll convince him to give oatmeal another chance 😉

Ingredients (makes 6 4 inch pancakes):

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda (optional)
  • 1 Tbsp agave maple syrup
  • 1 tsp lemon juice (if using baking soda)
  • pinch of salt
  • chocolate chips (optional)
  • oil for the skillet

Mix oats with 1/2 cup milk and let soak in the fridge overnight or for 15-30 minutes if cannot plan ahead. Mix the soaked oats with the remaining milk. Add the remaining ingredients (except the chocolate chips) and mix until smooth. I added the baking soda without thinking because that’s what I use for buttermilk pancakes, but it occurred to me towards the end that the batter might not be acidic enough to react with it so I just squeezed some lemon juice in it.

Warm a skillet over medium heat. Using a 1/4 cup drop batter into the skillet. Cook for 1-2 minutes or until the edges are set and bubbles form on the surface. Flip and cook until the other side browns as well (about 1 more minute).

If using chocolate chips, add them after putting the batter into the skillet.  I used the mini-chocolate chips and attempted to make some smiley faces. You can judge if I was successful or not 🙂

Serve with maple syrup and raspberries!

These pancakes made for a delicious breakfast and I will definitely be making them again. Maybe even add a bit more oats 🙂 Even though it took me a while to give pancakes a chance, there have now become routine in my kitchen. While crepes are still faster to make, I like how easily you can change the pancake batter so you can never be bored 🙂

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthier Pancakes with Oats, Raspberries and Maple Syrup

  1. P. K. Newby says:

    Thanks for your visit to The Nutrition Doctor is In the Kitchen! Adding oats is a good start to making pancakes better for you. Wanna get your pancakes even healthier? If so, check out my recent post for blueberry whole grain pancakes … http://blog.pknewby.com/2012/08/11/ditch-the-mix-make-your-own-berry-bursting-pancakes/ (And there’s a raspberry version, too.) This is sounding spammy & that’s not at all my intent ~ I’m just passionate about nutrition education, is all. Really. Cheers, PKN

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

