My Attempt at Doro Wat (Ethiopian Spicy Chicken Stew with Berbere)

I really enjoyed my chickpeas and chicken stew lunches last week and I decided to use the berbere, again, this time for a more traditional Ethiopian chicken stew. I do have a giant container after all 🙂 The recipes for this stew call for anywhere from 2 teaspoons to 1 cup of berbere, so I just chose this recipe as a guideline and adjusted the seasoning as I cooked it. I knew 2 teaspoons wouldn’t be enough, but 1 cup seemed a bit too intimidating 🙂 Also, one of the reasons I picked this dish was to use more of my berbere paste, otherwise if I just use teaspoons at a time, I will never finish it!!! 🙂

Ingredients (~4 servings):

  • 8 bone-in chicken drumsticks (~2 lbs)
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups chopped onion
  • 2 Tbsps vegetable oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp ginger paste
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup berbere paste
  • 1 plum tomato diced
  • 1/2 cup red wine (I used a sweet Romanian wine)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • hard boiled eggs (1 per serving)

Start by marinating the chicken in lemon juice and 1/2 tsp salt. I scored the skin to make it easier to marinate. Place chicken in the fridge while working on the rest of the recipe.

Chop the onion finely. 

As you can see I failed at finely chopping the onion. I was also planning on using more onion, but I was not even done with the first cup, when tears starting running down my cheeks like crazy. I usually burn a tea light candle on my chopping board, but I think that wouldn’t have been enough for the amount of sulphur compounds this onion generated!

Cook the onion in a dutch oven for a few minutes (no oil!). I used my cobalt Le Creuset pot. Can you believe they’re discontinuing this color? 😦 Stay away from the onion vapors. Your kitchen will smell like onion…a lot 🙂

Add the vegetable oil (or butter or the Ethiopian niter kebbeh) and continue cooking. Add the garlic, ginger, cardamom, nutmeg, salt and berbere. Cook for a few minutes until the spices become fragrant and the berbere gets more brown. Add the diced onion. 

Add wine and water (or just water or chicken stock). I didn’t have a dry red, so I used a Romanian sweet red wine. I still have to find a dry Romanian wine. I guess we like our wines sweeter 🙂 

Add the chicken and cover it with the sauce. 

Bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 30 min to 1 hr, turning the chicken over every 10-20 minutes. 

When close to being done, pierce the boiled eggs with a toothpick and place them into the pot. Ladle into a bowl and serve with bread (or rice and/or injera). 

This stew was very tasty and not too spicy, so you can definitely add a bit more berbere paste. It was cooked just long enough for the chicken to easily fall off the bone which I always enjoy 🙂 I will definitely make this again, especially if I can find the niter kebbeh at the Ethiopian store. I also want to try to make the injera bread and I have been looking for teff flour in the grocery stores, but I haven’t found any yet. I did find it online, but 5 lbs seemed a bit excessive 🙂

So far I have been enjoying cooking Ethiopian food. I wonder if there are any other Ethiopian dishes I should try. Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Attempt at Doro Wat (Ethiopian Spicy Chicken Stew with Berbere)

  1. Geoff Hom says:

    In Seattle, the Ethiopian restaurant also ran a grocery next door. I would be nice to your favorite Ethiopian restaurant and ask them if you could buy/try some teff flour, or ask them where they buy it. And bring a container with you to be prepared. =)

    If I had to pick a favorite ethnic cuisine, it would be Ethiopian!

  2. I think I’ll go back to the store. They obviously make their own injera so they must have some teff flour. I actually haven’t had Ethiopian food until this year, but so far I am loving the flavors!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

