Nutella Crepes

Crepes with Nutella are my go to lazy breakfast dish and I cannot believe I haven’t posted my recipe yet! I’ve been making crepes ever since I was little, but I’ve never followed a recipe. The problem with that is that the crepe batter can turn either too liquid or too thick so you have to find the right balance between the amount of flour and milk. I think our family dog figured out that there is a chance of having some failed crepes, because he wouldn’t leave me alone not even for a second while I was making them. He probably also knew that I will share some with him anyways, since who could resist these puppy eyes 🙂

While in college, without a dog to eat the failed crepes :-), I decided it was about time I get the recipe down!

Ingredients (makes 6 crepes):

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • pinch of salt
  • 6 Tbsps flour
  • oil for the skillet
  • toppings: Nutella, fruit, whipped cream, etc

Whisk the egg, milk and pinch of salt (my father says he can tell wether I added salt or not ;-)). Whisk in the flour, 1 Tbsp at a time trying to get the batter as smooth as possible.

Pardon my ugly tupperware, but I only made half a batch on Saturday and kept the second half in the fridge for my Sunday breakfast 😉 I know I could I have changed to a bowl for prettier pictures, but I was kind of starving and very impatiently waiting to enjoy my crepes 🙂

Now time to cook the crepes! You can of course use fancy crepe making utensils, but I don’t own any, so I just used a non-stick skillet. You can also use a cast-iron skillet as well, but it is heavier and can make it harder to swirl the batter around. Even though my skillet is non-stick, I still brush it with a bit of vegetable oil. Warm up the skillet on medium heat. Add 1/4 cup of the crepe batter and swirl it around until you get a uniform layer of batter. 

Cook until the top looks done (it will go from white to pale yellow). It was very hard to get a nice picture since it cooks so fast, but you can sort of see the colors in the picture above where I made my crepe a bit less uniform to show the colors. This should take about 1 minute. Flip crepe using a spatula, or if you’re more adventurous using the skillet 😉 It seems I was a lot more fearless when I was younger because I used to always use the skillet, but after a few missed attempts in college, I gave up. It was also more entertaining at home since I could watch my dog following the crepe in the air hoping it will miss the skillet 🙂

Cook until the other side has some brown spots as well (~30 seconds). Flip onto a plate. Serve with your favorite toppings. 

I almost always have mine with Nutella and usually fresh berries, but the fruit at the store didn’t look that appetizing. I guess it is not the season for it 😦 For those of you banana lovers out there, bananas would probably go well with Nutella, but I wouldn’t know since I don’t eat them 🙂

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nutella Crepes

  1. Simona Nedelcu says:

    Who doesn’t like bananas???

  2. I can’t be the only one, can I? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Crepe iron | Mayasilver

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

