Salmon with Pumpkin Seed Pesto

I have finally had a less busy week when I could focus on eating healthier and catching up on some gym time! I was pleasantly surprised to find the gym almost empty! Sometimes in January, it can be a struggle to find a free machine since everyone is trying to lose the extra-pounds from the holidays, but I guess my neighbors all ate in moderation this season 🙂

I decided to start the week with a salmon dish from the BA food cleanse. This is a great dish because it is fast to make and you can cook extra salmon and use the leftovers in salads for lunch!

Ingredients (2 portions):

  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds (toasted)
  • 1/4 cup cilantro (packed)
  • 1/4 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1/4 garlic clove
  • 1/4 Tbsp of lime juice
  • 2 Tbsps water
  • 2 Tbsps olive oil (plus a bit to rub on the salmon)
  • salt and pepper
  • 12 oz wild sockeye salmon fillet

Turn on the broiler for the salmon. For the pesto, start by cracking your coriander and toasting the pumpkin seeds if you bought them raw. 

In a food processor, place 3 Tbsps pumpkin seeds, the cilantro, coriander, and garlic. Process until coarsely chopped. Add the water, olive oil and lime juice and process until a coarse puree forms. Season with salt and pepper and set aside.

The recipe called to fry the salmon, but I chose to broil mine. Rub the salmon with salt, pepper, olive oil and a bit of lime juice. Place on a baking sheet covered with aluminum foil for easy cleaning 😉

Broil for~10 minutes or until the salmon flakes easily. Serve with pesto and the remaining pumpkin seeds. I also served mine with the orange and chile roasted sweet potatoes. 

I love salmon and this pesto went very nicely with it. I could eat just plain broiled salmon every day, but it is nice to change it up a bit from time to time 😉 I was happy I was able to find some wild salmon at the store since now most of the salmon (or fish in general) available is farmed. While, you usually don’t have to worry about mercury in the farmed fish, since the salmon is a fatty fish, it tends to store nasty chlorine compounds. Maybe I am crazy, but I prefer the low mercury dose in wild fish to chlorinated chemicals. I get exposed to enough chemicals in lab and I don’t want them in my fish as well 🙂

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salmon with Pumpkin Seed Pesto

  1. Pingback: Yogurt Chicken with Cilantro Chutney and Almond Tri-Color Quinoa | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

