Greek Yogurt Pancakes with Maple Applesauce

For some reason, I don’t usually care about applesauce. I bought a jar while my boyfriend was sick once and it expired, untouched after he recovered. Maybe it is because it has baby food texture or that I miss the crunch from a real apple. Still, I decided to go ahead and make my own, following the recipe from the Bon Appetit food cleanse, and it was worth it! Unlike the applesauce from the store, this one is chunky, not like baby food 🙂 Also, it is sweetened with maple syrup, which gives it a nice flavor. I decided to use it on these Greek yogurt pancakes, for a slightly healthier weekend brunch 😉

Ingredients (serves 2, plus leftover applesauce):

  • 5 Fuji apples (makes 1 1/2-2 cups applesauce)
  • 2 Tbsps maple syrup (I used Trader Joe’s organic, Grade B)
  • pinch of salt
  • lemon juice (from ~1/2 lemon)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 Tbsps milk

Core apples and cut into 1” cubes. Add apples, 1/6 cup water, maple syrup and salt to nonreactive pot. 

Bring to a boil, cover, and reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer, stirring every 5 minutes, until apples become soft. Use a whisk to smash the apples. 

Continue cooking until the apples are completely soft (~45 minutes). Add lemon juice and more maple syrup to adjust the taste. The fuji apples were quite sweet so I didn’t add any extra maple syrup. 

I made this the night before and stored it in an airtight container in the fridge until ready to use.

Now, moving on to the pancakes: place greek yogurt, flour, salt and baking soda in a medium mixing bowl.

Add the eggs, vanilla and milk and whisk until smooth. I added more milk than in the original recipe because the batter was too thick. Feel free to add more if your batter is still too thick. 

Warm up butter or vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Using a 1/2 cup, drop batter into the skillet. Cook for 1-2 minutes (until bubbles form on the surface), then flip and cook for 1.5 – 2 minutes more. 

Serve with applesauce and more maple syrup (or your favorite toppings really :-)). 

While not as fluffy as the buttermilk pancakes, these were pretty tasty. They had a refreshing tart taste from the yogurt that went very well with the sweet mapley applesauce 😉

While, I may not buy applesauce anytime soon, I will definitely make my own again. I am thinking about using tarter apples to get a less sweet applesauce. I know I could choose not to use the maple syrup, but I am not willing to give up the flavor it adds to the applesauce 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Greek Yogurt Pancakes with Maple Applesauce

  1. Dumi says:

    Looks yummy!!
    BTW baby food texture is not so bad in general… You don’t need to chew! 🙂

  2. but some of us enjoy chewing quite a bit 🙂

  3. Rebecca says:

    I made a few recipes from the cleanse–I bought all the apples to make this sauce and then ended up eating them all fresh before I ever got around to sauce–now I feel as if I missed out! And it sounds just great on pancakes!

  4. Chef Randall says:

    Very nice. Homemade breakfast is always good and real Maple syrup, yummy!! 🙂 Images delectable as well, makes the food more enticing.

    Chef Randall
    http://www.savorthefood.com

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

