Almond Cranberry Quinoa Cookies

I kept reading on how January is a dessert/cookie/meat/etc free month, but I still went ahead and made this cookies, and I don’t regret it 🙂 There are so many fun cookies recipes I want to try and I never manage to make all the cookies I want for the holidays. I have to admit that these cookies were not on my holiday list, but I was very curious about the quinoa in them and they seemed very versatile. You can have them for breakfast, as an afternoon snack and even as an after-dinner dessert 😉 This recipe is adapted from Bon Appetit.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Start by cooking your quinoa. The quinoa quadruples in volume so you only need 1/4 cup dried quinoa. Cook it following the package instructions.

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Add the butter, the sugar and honey to a medium bowl. Using Paula Dean’s tip, I first sprayed my cup with oil before adding the honey to make it easier to remove it. 

Using an electric mixer, beat until fluffy (a few minutes). 

Beat in the eggs and the extracts.

Add the salt, baking powder and baking soda. Beat in the flour 1/4 cup at a time. Stir in the almond meal.

Add the quinoa and the cranberries. 

Mix them in lightly and the dough is ready!

Spoon dough (~1 heaping tablespoon) onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake until golden (~12 minutes). Let cookies cool and store in an airtight container.

These cookies were very tasty. They did turn out a bit sweeter than I expected them to, so probably next time I make them I will just not add both types of sugar. They will be healthier this way too 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

