Pumpkin Mascarpone Pie

I made this for Thanksgiving, but I forgot my camera at my friend’s place so I didn’t have the pictures to post it until this week :-(I am usually not a great fan of pumpkin pie, but last year I received a big pumpkin as a gift so I had to find some recipes. I made a pecan-pumpkin pie and this mascarpone pie.  Since I was already making the pecan bourbon pie, this year I opted for the mascarpone version. The mascarpone makes this pie really tasty and it gives it a cheesecake-like consistency. This recipe is originally from Bon Appetit, but I changed some of the quantities. I used a can of pumpkin instead of just 1 cup because I didn’t want to throw away the remaining pumpkin. Also, since I was not cooking anything else with mascarpone, I bought just one small container and saved a bit for the whipped cream instead of just using part of a second container. If you find the double-size container at the store, you can probably split the extra mascarpone between the pie filling and the whipped cream 😉

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie crust
  • 1 can pure pumpkin
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 8 oz mascarpone (keep 1-2 Tbsps for the whipped cream)

Mascarpone whipped cream:

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1-2 Tbsps mascarpone pie
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsps sugar

Roll out the cold pie crust. Carefully place it in the pie baking dish and trim the edges. Place the crust in the fridge while making the filling. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Beat pumpkin and sugar until combined. 

Beat in the eggs and then add the spices. The spices smelled so nice 😉 Beat in the spices.

Add the filling to the chilled crust and bake at 350 F until the custard is set (~1hr). Make the whipped cream by beating all the ingredients until hard peaks form. Store in the fridge until you are ready to serve the pie.

The pie was a hit and everyone loved the mascarpone whipped cream 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Mascarpone Pie

  1. Pingback: A Few Thanksgiving Suggestions | the windy kitchen

  2. Pingback: Iced Pumpkin Cookies | the windy kitchen

  3. Pingback: Polenta with Duck Confit, Mushrooms, and Fried Egg | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

