Roasted Cumin Cauliflower

I’ve been wanting to make this ever since I saw the recipe on smittenkitchen, but of course I had no oven to roast the cauliflower in 😦 So it should not come as a surprise that this was one of the first dishes to go into my oven, after the Thanksgiving pies of course πŸ˜‰ I mostly eat my cauliflower raw or pickled, but this sounded so good that I had to give roasting it a chance, and it didn’t disappoint.

Ingredients (makes 2 side servings):

  • 1/2 large cauliflower head
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp whole cumin seeds
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 small Greek yogurt
  • 1 inch cube of Bulgarian feta
  • pomegranate seeds

Preheat oven to 425 F. Brush a roasting pan with some olive oil. Cut the cauliflower into small florets. Ideally, you want them about the same size so they roast uniformly, but I actually liked having a few over roasted ones on my plate πŸ˜‰

Toss cauliflower bits with oil, salt, pepper and the cumin seeds. Arrange onto the roasting pan.

Roast for 30 min, or until the edges of the medium size pieces get brownish. While roasting, mix the feta cheese with yogurt.

Serve with the feta-yogurt dip and pomegranate seeds. I felt like there were 3 different layers of flavor coming for the cumin, the yogurt and the pomegranate. The flavors went great together, but if you don’t have all the ingredients you can skip any of the three flavors and still have a delicious side dish (well, maybe try to keep the cumin :-)). I will definitely have more roasted cauliflower from now on; maybe even make a whole head and have it as a dish on his own πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

