Julia Child’s Galettes au Camembert (Camembert biscuits)

Last year, I wanted to make Julia Child’s rabbit recipe and after a brief google search I concluded it must be in the first volume of Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Imagine my surprise, when I opened the book from Amazon and couldn’t find it!!! Stubborn as I am, I went to my local Borders and browsed all Julia Child’s cookbook and found the recipe in the second volume. Borders was also having the French Chef Cookbook on bargain sale and I couldn’t resist and bought it. If you did the math, after last year’s Thanksgiving I was the proud owner of 3 Julia Child cookbooks 🙂 Since most of her recipes take time (and lots of pots to wash!!!), I mostly just open her books during holidays when I have more time to spend in the kitchen. This recipe is actually pretty fast and can be easily made on a weeknight as well. You can find it in Mastering the Art of French Cooking Vol. 1.

Ingredients (makes 50 1 1/2 inch biscuits):

  • 8 oz Camembert cheese (can substitute Brie or Liederkranz)
  • 3 oz (3/4 stick) softened butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • pinch of cayenne
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 egg yolk for brushing

Preheat oven to 350 F.Scrape off the crust of the cheese and mash it using a fork. Mix in the softened butter. Apparently, I am not as strong as Julia and after struggling with the fork I switched to using my pastry blender.

Beat in the eggs and spices (I used an hand mixer). Knead in the flour (you can add more if the dough is too soft). Form into a ball, wrap in foil and refrigerate until hard.

Remove dough from the fridge, roll until 1/4 inch thick. Cut into 1 1/2 inch circles. One of my shot glasses was almost this size, but you can use whatever size/shape cutter you want. You could get an early start at using those Christmas cutters 😉 Brush with egg.

Bake until lightly browned on top (~15 minutes). These turned out very tasty and not too cheesy. I think they will go very well with a glass of wine 😉 Julia doesn’t seem to like adding baking powder to her baking recipes (at least the ones I’ve made so far), but next time I make these I may add some to make them fluffier and maybe also add some extra cheese 🙂

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Julia Child’s Galettes au Camembert (Camembert biscuits)

  1. Simona Nedelcu says:

    traiasca Julia Child:) arata delicios!

  2. Da! I should try to use her cookbooks more often 😉

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Julia Child! | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

