French Toast with Nutella

Last weekend, I had some delicious French toast at Lokal and I decided it was about time I tried to make some for breakfast. I am more of a savory egg person when it comes to breakfast,  but I do occasionally enjoy sweet dishes. Crepes with Nutella is usually my go-to sweet dish for breakfast, and I have been quite resistant to trying other recipes. Luckily, I could add some Nutella to my French toast recipe, so it made it easier to change my routine. Nutella definitely makes any breakfast better 😉

Ingredients:

  • 6 thick slices of white bread (~3/4 inch)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup almond milk (or your favorite type of milk)
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt

Whisk eggs and milk in a medium bowl. I have been switching to using almond milk mostly because it lasts longer in the fridge, but I do enjoy its taste a lot. I don’t drink milk and I was getting tired of having milk go bad, not to mention the time wasted in the grocery store trying to find a small container of milk! 

Add spices and whisk until blended.

Slice the bread. I used thicker slices, but you can probably use thinner ones if you bought pre-sliced bread.

Brush a large skillet with oil or butter and heat over medium-high heat. Soak bread slices into the milk mixture and cook in the skillet until it browns on one side (~2 min).

Flip bread slices using a spatula and cook until brown on the other side as well. Transfer bread to plate. Spread Nutella on one slice and top it with a second slice. Serve with maple syrup. Enjoy 😉

These turned out very tasty and I definitely enjoyed the addition of the Nutella. For the syrup, I used a maple agave blend since Trader Joe’s ran out of the regular size maple syrup bottles, and it was a bit too sweet for me. I may have to buy some regular syrup for the next time I’ll make these, or just use more Nutella 😉

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

