Coffee Stout Beef Chili

I have never made chili before this fall so my goal this year is to try a few different meats/recipes and then come up with my favorite combination of flavors. This week I picked this beef and beer recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Tbsp whole cumin
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 onion
  • 1 yellow and 1 red peppers
  • 1 serrano pepper
  • 1/2 red jalapeño
  • 1/2 Tbsp hot chili powder
  • salt &  pepper to taste
  • 3 canned chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, minced
  • 1 14 oz tomatoes
  • 1 14 oz kidney beans
  • 1/2 bottle Sam Adams coffee stout
  • sharp cheddar cheese as toping

Roast the cumin and the coriander until they start to pop. Ground the spices using a mortar and pestle.

In a large skillet, cook the ground beef over medium heat until no longer pink (8-10min). Meanwhile, chop the onion and peppers. Heat oil in another skillet over medium-heat. Add the onion and peppers to the skillet and cook until they begin to soften (15-20min). I love all the different colors 🙂

Add the vegetables to the meat skillet. Mix in spices, tomatoes, chipotle chiles, beans and beer. 

Bring mixture to a boil. Cover and reduce the heat to a simmer. I have simmered mine for almost 2 hrs because I wanted to let the flavors combine longer, but if you are in a rush, 30 min is probably fine. Season with salt and pepper.

Ladle into a bowl and enjoy 🙂 I served mine with sharp cheddar cheese and fresh bread. I was a bit worried about using a coffee stout, but the flavors mixed in very nicely in the end. Overall, it turned out a bit spicy, so next time I may skip the chili powder. Looking forward to receiving my oven this week so I can bake some corn muffins for my next chili recipe 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee Stout Beef Chili

  1. Paige says:

    Ooh, this looks good! I’ve never made chili with beer before but I’ll definitely try this. You’ve got some great ideas here!

  2. Tai Klapp says:

    I like the helpful information you supply for your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and test again right here regularly. I am quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the following!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

