Blood Orange Greek Yogurt Olive Oil Cake

blood orange greek yogurt olive oil cake

blood orange greek yogurt olive oil cake

Last week during a run I was just thinking about how I haven’t baked a dessert in a while and decided to remedy that. I believe my “I don’t bake it, I don’t eat it” policy is pretty sound, but I do love baking and I can always run longer to burn the extra calories :-) Since I had some blood oranges hanging out in the pantry, I decided to attempt a blood orange yogurt cake. I first read about yogurt cakes in the “Lunch in Paris” book and after baking one, I was in love! The cakes are pretty easy to make, they’re not overly sweet, and double as both breakfast and dessert pretty well. What’s not to love about them? :-) As it turns out, there is one famous blood orange cake that can use either buttermilk or yogurt, and I believe it’s been made famous because of the olive oil. I’ve seen a few olive oil cake recipes, and I’ve made some cakes using vegetable oil instead of butter before, so I decided to give this cake a try. I almost switched the olive oil for plain vegetable oil upon smelling it, but I decided to stick with it and as it turns out the flavor is pretty mild upon baking. I believe the recipe is originally from A Good Appetite, but I used the NYTimes article. The cake is also featured on the Smitten Kitchen blog.

Recipe notes: my blood oranges were on the small side so I used more than the recipe suggested. I used full fat greek yogurt, but regular yogurt or buttermilk should work as well.

Ingredients (~8 servings):

  • 4 blood oranges (plus 3 more for compote)
  • butter/oil for pan
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ~ 1/2 cup greek yogurt (details bellow)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • honey blood orange compote (3 oranges, 2-3 tsp honey)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a cake pan. I used a round pie pan, but you can also use a loaf pan.

Supreme 2 oranges. I have never done this before, but thanks to my good knife I managed pretty well in the end. Basically you have to cut off the ends, peel both the peel and the pith of the orange, then cut out the flesh from between the membranes.

supreme 2 blood oranges

supreming blood oranges

And here is the resulting ‘skeleton':

supremed orange

supremed orange

Zest 2 blood oranges. Rub the zest with the sugar in a medium bowl.

blood orange zesty sugar

blood orange zesty sugar

Halve the 2 zested oranges and juice them in a 1/3 measuring cup. This should yield about 1/4 cup juice. Fill the 1/3 cup with yogurt. Add to the sugar, followed by a 1/3 cup yogurt and whisk together. You basically want 2/3 cup total of juice and yogurt.

"bloody" cake mix

“bloody” cake mix

Whisk in the eggs one at a time, followed by the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

cake batter post flour addition

cake batter post flour addition

Whisk in olive oil 1/3 cup at a time. Break the supremed blood orange pieces on top of the batter and fold in using a spatula.

cake batter done!

cake batter done!

Pour cake batter into the pan.

ready to be baked!

ready to be baked!

Bake for 50 minutes, or until cake it’s puffed up and golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool.

baked blood orange cake

baked blood orange cake

While cake is cooling make the blood orange compote. Supreme 3 more oranges and place slices into a bowl. Cover with ~ 2 tsp honey. Let sit for 5-10 minutes, then mix. Taste and add more honey if necessary.

Slice cake and serve with blood orange compote!

cake with blood orange compote

cake with blood orange compote

Don’t get spooked by the olive oil, this cake is famous for a reason! It is tasty, moist, and flavorful. Definitely a keeper in my book ;-)

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blood Orange Greek Yogurt Olive Oil Cake

  1. What a creative recipe – can’t wait to try!

  2. Ohhh yes to this cake! I have enjoyed any baked goods I’ve made with olive oil (though it is definitely not welcome in my homemade mayonnaise!). Looks delicious!

    • while I don’t olive oil will become a frequent ingredient in my baked goods, I will definitely use it again! I’ve never tried to use it for mayo, as I usually use vegetable oil for that. It is so finicky to begin with, that I have no plans of messing around with its preparation.

      • Sadly, the first recipe I tried for homemade mayonnaise (from a very trusted blogger!) was successful, but NEVER should have called for olive oil. It was terribly bitter, and needed a neutral-flavored oil such as vegetable, canola, grapeseed etc. Yikes!

  3. This looks like a good not too heavy recipe- I’m ready for a citrusy cake- maybe with some almond flour?

  4. Love the citrusy taste in my cakes! Looks great.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

