Cocoa Butterscotch Brownies

Cocoa Butterscotch Brownies

Cocoa Butterscotch Brownies

Can you believe this is only my second time attempting to make brownies? Neither can I, but if I think about it, it actually does make a lot of sense. Brownies, just as chocolate chip cookies, can be found quite often in party trays and there is always someone who volunteers to make them for gatherings, so instead I just get to explore some other dessert recipes. In Romania, dessert means pastries, and it took me a while to give in and make easy recipes such as chocolate chip cookies, or any cookies for that matter, and/or brownies, but now that I am way busier than in middle school/high school and don’t get nearly the amount of holiday days off, I am starting to appreciate easy desserts a lot more. I think it’s not even the fewer days off, but the “busy culture” we live in and the social pressure to work all the time. In Europe, holidays are holidays, which means total disconnect from work, lots of time spent in the kitchen, visiting relatives and enjoying the holiday magic. I am hoping I will be able to get all this back once I have a job where I have fixed vacation days and won’t feel bad about taking time off/not checking my email, etc…is this even possible nowadays? Well, I sure hope it is, so don’t ruin it for me if your experience as a working person is different ;-)

Anyways, the stars aligned for me to make brownies last week. By this I meant, I made a impulse purchase of a bag of butterscotch chips at the grocery store and kept thinking what to make with them first, when this brownie recipe popped up on the Bon Appetit feed. So here it is with a few modifications. I reduced the sugar, but these still turned out quite sweet, so if you’re like me and like your desserts a little less sweet, feel free to reduce the amount of sugar even more…it’s good for you :-)

Ingredients (makes 12-16):

  • 1 stick unsalted butter plus some for buttering the pan
  • 3/4 – 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup butterscotch chips (I used Nestle)

Preheat oven to 325 F. Butter a pan (I used a 8 x 4 inch) or alternatively line it with aluminum boil and then grease the foil. 

Melt butter over medium heat. In a medium bowl, mix together the sugar, cocoa and salt. Slowly whisk in the butter. Add vanilla, the eggs one at a time and whisk until homogenous. Stir in the flour, followed by the butterscotch chips. Place batter in the pan, even out the top and bake for 25 – 30 min or until cooked through and the top begins to  crack.

Let cool completely. Cut and serve ;-)

Cocoa Butterscotch Brownies

Cocoa Butterscotch Brownies

These were so fast, I didn’t even get a step by step picture, but trust me, there are very easy to make :-) I whipped this up in about 10 minutes, put the pan in the oven and them made dinner while they were baking.

I loved these brownies and this recipe is a keeper. They came out very moist, the top had a nice crunch to it, and they were extremely flavorful from the butterscotch chips.

Now time to brainstorm some nice Christmas cookies and I still need to figure out gifts…Christmas sure came fast this year ;-)

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Cocoa Butterscotch Brownies

  1. My wife sprays a bit of Kahlúa over her brownies (she uses a mister bottle). It keeps them moist and they are incredible.

  2. you had me at cocoa and butterscotch…these look delish…lovely post..sarah

  3. These sound like the perfect brownies! Brownies are always my easy go-to dessert, also… bar cookies = so much faster than rolling or dropping dough for individual cookies! I love the sound of your Russian “pastries”, though….

    I agree with you, we work too much these days :( I wish I had more time for family and cooking! I will get a 4-day weekend, but my husband is only taking one day off (Christmas day), and even in our time off there is so much pressure to do, do do! I just want to RELAX! but i also want to cook and bake :)

  4. Pingback: Lobster and Shiitake Mushroom Pasta and a bad drink pairing :-) | the windy kitchen

  5. I love making variations of brownies. They’re such a classic and everyone gets excited when you show up with them! :)

  6. Pingback: 10 Terrific Brownie Recipes Worth Indulging On | Yummly

  7. Pingback: Chicago Polar Dash 5K | the windy kitchen

  8. Dora says:

    Do you think doubling the recipe would be okay? I have a 12 x 8 inch pan and want at least 20 brownies. What would you recommend?

  9. Dora says:

    1.5 is a good idea. THANK YOU–for the recipe, and the fast response!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

